Make your own free website on

Claiborne County Tennessee


Claiborne County is bordered by both the state of Kentucky and the state of Virginia. Tazewell is the county seat and located about 40 miles northeast of Knoxville, the third largest city in Tennessee.

Claiborne County was established in 1801 and was formed from Hawkins and Grainger Counties.  The county is named for William C. C. Claiborne, a judge of the Superior Court of Tennessee.  He also served as governor of the Mississippi Territory and later as Governor and Senator of Louisiana until the time of his death.


Ancestor Gallery

Claiborne County Pioneer Project

Smokey Mountain Mist Genealogy